ALA Book Awards!

On January 25, the American Library Association (ALA) announced the top books, digital media, video, and audiobooks for children and young adults.  Recognized worldwide for the high quality they represent, ALA awards guide parents, educators, librarians, and others in selecting the best materials for youth. Selected by judging committees of librarians and other literature and media experts, the awards encourage original and creative work.

Newbery Medal: most outstanding contribution to children’s literature:

When You Trap a Tiger by Tae Keller 

Caldecott Medal: most distinguished American picture book:

We Are Water Protectors by Carole Lindstrom

Printz Medal: for excellence in literature written for young adults:

Everything Sad is Untrue by Daniel Nayeri

Coretta Scott King Award: recognizing an African American author:

Before the Ever After by Jacqueline Woodson

-Denise R.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s